RSS

Fruit Kebabs with Honey Berry Yoghurt

04 Dec

I don’t know why, but I am a fan of eating things off sticks.

It started with a very passionate love affair with chicken satay skewers from a backyard BBQ when I was 11.

Now, I’ll eat practically anything, if you skewer it.

So tonight, after a delish dinner of seared rib eye in a delectable red wine sauce and roasted vegies, I was feeling a bit stuffed, but couldn’t face the prospect of going to bed without dessert.

I decided something simple, light and fresh was in order and was going to whip a simple fruit salad (being such a gourmand that I am, insert eyeroll here).

But then an idea struck me- put it on a stick and call it a dessert! So out came my trusty bamboo skewers…and the mess began.

I would count the number of times I stabbed myself with the bamboo skewers if my fingers weren’t bloody stubs dangling off my palms, but I choose to live dangerously. What can I say.

Okay, so here’s what we put together tonight, quantities are up to you-

I made enough for my husband and me.

Fruits I used were:

  • Fresh apricots
  • Strawberries
  • Cherries
  • Mango
  • Canteloupe
  • Watermelon
  • Grapes

You could also use bananas, crisp Granny Smith apples, orange, pineapple, raspberries and blueberries. I didn’t, because I didn’t have them.

As for the Honey Berry yoghurt, I used a tub of berry flavoured yoghurt, mixed with a teaspoon of honey. Complicated, huh?

As much as I adore complicated, delicate, delish desserts, let’s face it, how many of us are going to be whipping up culinary delights for desserts after a day of screaming kids, screaming bosses and honking horns? Not me.

But put it on a stick and suddenly it’s not just fruit on a plate before bed, it’s “Fruit kebabs with honey berry yoghurt”.

 

Do you have something to say?

 
