RSS

Honey-Roasted Pumpkin & Feta Salad

05 Dec

Okay, so here’s the thing.

I am not really much of a following a recipe/measuring ingredients out kind of person.

Sort of ridiculous, I know, considering I have a food blog.

Originally the whole idea behind my food blog was that it was a place to centralise all my favourite recipes, a paperless medium, a database of all the yummy recipes I had found, tried, and created.I needed to free up one of kitchen cupboards where all my cookbooks resided and I thought uploading the recipes to a blog would be the easy solution.

I never cared about how many hits I’d get a day and if autobots wanted to leave me spam comments about having a longer lasting erection, it wasn’t a life crisis.

But now I enjoy logging in every day, reading comments and emails from people who’ve stumbled across my blog.  I love the idea that people can be inspired by the recipes I post, just as I am inspired reading many food blogs.

But here’s the problem. When I’m getting my culinary freak on in the kitchen, I just don’t measure. I don’t weigh. I don’t count teaspoons, tablespoons and cups. I just throw it all together, taste as I go and hope for the best, which has served me well to date.

So today, I’m posting a vague “recipe” for a salad I concocted today for lunch. I’m going to have to be very broad with my ingredients measurements because to be honest, I whipped it up in such a hungry frenzy that I didn’t care. So I trust, that if you’re going to try this recipe, adapt the figures to suit your own style, taste and desires.

AND TASTE AS YOU GO!

On a side note, this recipe is great for a summer light lunch or work lunch and great for vegetarians. If you wanted to make a low GI version friendlier version, you would just substitute the pumpkin for kumara.

This recipe is also a good way of using up leftover roast pumpkin from the big dinner the night before.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups baby mesclun salad leaves
  • 2 large wedges of butternut pumpkin
  • 1/2 small red onion, sliced finely
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed well
  • 3/4 cup diced feta cheese
  • 3/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 small red capsicum, sliced into finely
  • 3 tbsp  honey
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp wholegrain mustard
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar (I actually used rice wine vinegar because I’m having a love affair with it at the moment, and want it on everything).
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C.
  2. Cut pumpkin into palm-sized chunks and place on a oiled baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle salt and pepper to taste and then drizzle with 2 tbsp honey. Roast, in the oven until cooked through and edges start to slightly caramelise.
  3. Once the pumpkin is cooked, set aside to cool or refrigerate.
  4. In a large bowl or serving platter, assemble your salad.
  5. Top with chopped pumpkin and feta cheese. Sprinkle with chopped walnuts.
  6. Make your dressing by combining 3tbsp olive oil, 3tbsp honey, 1 tbsp wholegrain mustard and vinegar. Stir well, then pour over salad just before serving.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2009 in Inspiration, Luscious Lunches

 

Do you have something to say?

 
