RSS

Easiest Strawberry Cheesecake….like, EVER!

15 Jan

So tonight, after coming home from work feeling like death warmed up, I was in no mood to be in the kitchen any longer than I needed to be.

But my sweet tooth didn’t care.

My sweet tooth harassed me for the next two hours while i digested dinner, filling my mind with images of delectable sweets and whispering into my ear that a slice of a little something something would right all the wrongs in the world.

Meanwhile, my body was in shut down mode.

Solution?

Make hubby go down to local supermarket on a hunting expedition and come back with something to silence the voices in my head and the watering in my mouth. The best he came back with after a half hour trip was….a Sara Lee frozen strawberry cheesecake. Now….I’m not gonna rag on Sara Lee. I won’t even go there. Sara Lee desserts are perfectly  fine and acceptable. But eating a Sarah Lee frozen cheesecake is like agreeing to go on holiday to Uncle Davo and Aunty Bev’s run-down caravan by the beach instead of a holiday to the French Riviera.  You know it will be okay if you just make the best of it….but it doesn’t blow your mind.

Once I was comfortably set up on the couch with the TV remote, a slice of cheesecake and my dog, my Professor Knowitall husband decided that now was a good time to point out that in the half an hour it took for him to go and ‘fetch’ the cheesecake….I could have just made one.

Once the urge to murder him passed, I actually realised that was a good point. Fast forward to the present moment, after scouring the internet in a mad frenzy for the easiest, quickest cheesecake recipe known to woman, I’m pretty confident that I’ve found the easiest, quickest recipe that not even Aunty Bev could botch. Now I’ve tweaked it a little and added the coulis, so you can thank me later.

If you have a quicker or easier version, please share.

Strawberry Cheesecake with Coulis

Cheesecake

200g digestive biscuits

50g butter

1 tbsp honey

200ml double cream

100g cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla essence

1/2 tsp grated lemon rind

Coulis

200g fresh strawberries

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp strawberry liqueur (optional)

Method

  1. Place the biscuits into the food processor and process finely.
  2. Melt butter and honey in a saucepan over low heat, then combine with the processed biscuit crumbs. Mix well.
  3. Spread the mixture into a greased tin, ensuring that it has been spread evenly and pressed firmly. Refrigerate.
  4. Beat the cream until soft peaks form, then beat in the cream cheese.
  5. Now, make the coulis- combine all ingredients into blender and puree, then stir over low heat for a few minutes until slightly thickened and all sugar has dissolved. Allow to cool.
  6. Spread half of the cheese mixture over the chilled biscuit base, then spoon over the coulis, reserving some for later. Spread the remaining cheese mixture on top of the coulis and ensure it is smooth. Refrigerate.
  7. When you’re ready to serve the cheesecake, spoon some coulis over the top of the cake and plate up with fresh strawberries and some whipped cream.

The prep can take anywhere to 15-30 minutes and refrigeration time can vary, but needs to only be long enough for the cake to set.

Disclaimer: The photo I’ve posted is of the Sara Lee cake, but definitely the inspiration of this recipe.


 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2010 in Devilish Desserts

 

2 responses to “Easiest Strawberry Cheesecake….like, EVER!

  1. Mitzie Kellman

    April 26, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    I’ve seen progression in every post. Your newer posts are simply wonderful compared to your posts in the past. Keep up the good work!

     
  2. Palmer Newville

    April 27, 2010 at 10:27 am

    I see a great improvement in your writing, I’d love to get in touch. Keep up the great work! Your writing is very inspirational for someone who is new to this type of stuff.

     

Do you have something to say?

 
