RSS

All About Cointreau

16 Jan

Cointreau is one of the most versatile liqueurs that can be used in cooking.

I recently hosted a cocktail party for my birthday and the cocktail list included a lot of drinks that required Cointreau, so I had to buy a bottle. Prior to this, I had never really bothered with it, but I am glad I did.

I must confess that every single day since my party, I’ve pulled the Cointreau out of the cupboard….just to unscrew the cap and inhale that wonderful scent.

Not only can Cointreau be used in a variety of cocktails, and I really do mean quite a variety, but you can also use it to make your desserts go bom chicka wow wow.

So here’s what you need to know about Cointreau:

Cointreau is a liqueur made of bitter orange peels. It is made in France, sourcing bitter oranges from exotic locales such as Haiti, Spain and Brazil.

The first bottles of Cointreau were sold in 1875.

The alcohol content is 40%.

The most popular way to serve Cointreau is neat, on ice (with a twist of fresh lime), mixed with tonic, lemonade, soda water or fruit juice (pineapple, grapefruit, orange) and also in some the world’s most popular cocktails such as The Original Margarita, Cosmopolitan, White Lady and the Side Car.

Here are some of my favourite recipes that I’ve found to share with you. I can’t say that I have attempted all of them yet, but they are definitely my inspiration for my next dessert-making frenzy.

Cointreau Souffle

Cherry and Rasberry Cointreau Zabaglione

Baked Ricotta with Cinnamon Cherries

Crepes Suzette The all time classic

Dark Chocolate Tart with Cointreau Cherries

Mandarin Cointreau Cake

Cointreau Parfait with Figs

Enjoy!

If anyone out there has any Cointreau recipes they’d like to share, please do.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 16, 2010 in Dazzling Drinks, Ingredients 101

 

Do you have something to say?

 
