RSS

Lemon & Raspberry Muffins

13 Mar

Ok, so I’ve been meaning to update the blog for a while now because I have been cooking like mad and coming across some great, easy and quick recipes, but here’s the deal, I just went back to work after 3 weeks of annual leave (and a trip to Queensland).

As a result, not only am I pooped by the time I get in the door at night but I am also feeling a bit emo because my job gives me the shits. So I eat a packet of peanut M&Ms and then go to bed and lay there hating my life.

Part of coming back from holiday meant doing a big grocery shop up and having to empty out the freezer for all the new goodies. I had a bag of frozen raspberries that needed to be used, so I scoured the net for a while looking for a yummy recipe and stumbled across this one. I tweaked a bit of it, but essentially, it’s the same. These muffins keep well for up to a week in a sealed container and they are delicious and moist.

Ingredients

3 cups plain flour
3/4 cup caster sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
4 eggs
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 teaspoon freshly grated lemon zest
1 1/2 cups whole milk
8 tablespoons (113g) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
2 cups whole raspberries (I used frozen)
1/2 cup coarse raw sugar

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 190′C.
  2. Sift flour, caster sugar, brown sugar, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl. Mix gently with a wooden spoon and set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine eggs, vanilla extract, lemon zest and milk, and mix with a whisk until combined. Add to the bowl of dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon just until all the dry ingredients are moistened. Slowly add melted butter and continue mixing until batter is smooth and there are no visible streaks of butter. Gently fold fruit into batter, taking care to avoid crushing the fruit.
  4. Scoop batter into lined muffin tin, filling the cups to the top. Sprinkle coarse raw sugar on tops of muffins and bake on center rack of oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Finished muffins will be golden brown. Let cool at least 10 minutes before lifting each muffin from the pan.

Recipe Source

 

3 responses to “Lemon & Raspberry Muffins

  1. Chanel

    March 13, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Sorry your job gives you the shits :(.
    I love when after doing a big clean out of the freezer you get something yummy out of it, and your muffins definitely look yummy.

     
  2. delishdinners

    March 13, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    My job is definitely a ‘challenging’ one….lol.

    And yes, it’s definitely a great feeling cleaning out the freezer and being inspired to do something with the stuff in there.

    The muffins were great, so moist and fragrant and I loved that they weren’t too sweet. I’m not big on sickly sweet desserts, so I really liked the tartness of the raspberries and lemon together.

    Will definitely make again!

     
  3. SAGHAR

    September 28, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Hello.
    I visited your web and very enjoied for pictures and PREAMBLES about each foods
    tanks and have a good time
    GOODBYE

     

Do you have something to say?

 
