RSS

Monday to Friday Work Lunches

13 Mar

I recently had one of those big lightbulb moments that we all have once in a while.

I realised that I have been spending in excess of $100.00 a week just on buying lunch at work…and multiply that by two because my husband and I work at the same place.

Young, dumb, more money than brains, who knows why, but I was happily oblivious to this little fact until the account balance was $0.00 and I wanted to go clothes shopping.

So this time I decided that I really needed to stop having lunch at the cafe every day- not only was it ridiculously overpriced, but the food was boring and it wasn’t even tasty….just convenient.

So I have set myself a challenge, to take my lunch to work everyday for the next week. I tried to start this last week, but failed twice, ending up at the cafe for a mini Bailey’s cheesecake ‘for lunch-dessert’ and another time for a drink….and of course while I was there, why not some ravioli? Grrrrr!!!

So here’s my lunch plan for the week. Hopefully I can stick to it, save myself a few kilos and actually get to clothes shopping on the weekend!


MONDAY-Haloumi & Avocado Salad

Grilled haloumi slices, sliced avocado, rocket, salad leaves, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, carrot, mushroom, toasted pine nuts and a mustard-Balsamic dressing.

Image Source

TUESDAY- Teriyaki Rice Paper Rolls

Shredded teriyaki chicken, vermicelli noodles, iceberg lettuce, carrot, snow peas with Hoi Sin dipping sauce.

Image Source

WEDNESDAY- Cumin grilled chicken strips with Tabbouleh salad and toasted Turkish breadChicken tenderloins marinated in lemon, olive oil, garlic and cumin seeds overnight, then grilled with a salad of chopped parsley, tomatoes, burghul, mint, olive oil and lemon juice with a slice of toasted Turkish bread to scoop up that delicious salad.

Image Source

THURSDAY- Vietnamese Chicken Salad Rolls


Poached chicken in sesame oil, soy sauce, caster sugar, garlic and a dash of fish sauce, green onions, shredded carrot scooped into a crunchy roll.

Image Source

FRIDAY: Potato & Leek Soup

Potato, leek, onion, garlic, vegetable, stock, cream. Make up a big pot and take the leftovers to work. Yum!

Image Source

And just so you know, I’m blaming WordPress for the formatting of this post…not the wine.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2010 in Inspiration, Luscious Lunches

 

Do you have something to say?

 
