RSS

Slow Cooked Steak Pizzaiola

26 Mar

Remember how I virtually got a hard on over autumn arriving and couldn’t wait to use the slow-cooker? Well, apart from the fact that it is still FRICKEN warm outdoors and the leaves haven’t yet changed colour, I have to accept that somewhere, sometime soon, the colder weather will be upon us.

I had been waiting for one of those miserable, rainy overcast days to put my slow cooking skills on show but today,  I decided to bite the proverbial bullet and get on with it. I hate you , El Nino and global warming.

Today’s slow-cooked dinner is good old fashioned steak pizzaiola.

My grandma brought this recipe to Australia with her 50 years ago and makes it Calabria-style, ie; one dash of wine for the pot, one mouthful for her, one for the pot, one for her…

She always makes it with a nice lean cut of oyster blade, but I’m getting all experimental on her ass and trying it with porterhouse because I couldn’t be bothered going to the butcher.

I’ve been eating this hearty meal since I was a kid and it always reminds me of living with my grandparents. The steak is so tender, it literally melts in your mouth and the simple sauce is delish when you mop it up with some crusty Ciabatta bread. Hope you enjoy. My recipe is altered to feed 2 with some leftovers for the next day, so if you’re cooking for the tribe you may wanna double up on the numbers.

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 large white onion, diced

2 tbsp garlic, minced

600g porterhouse, trimmed of excess fat and junk

450ml passata (bottled tomato puree). You could also use tinned tomatoes.

4 tbsp dried oregano

2 cups wine (usually, it’s white wine, however I used a Brown Brothers Vintage 2009 Moscato Rosa)

2 tbsp capers

1/2 cup green olives (for the love of God, please none of those awful ‘cocktail’ green olives with the capsicum in the middle, just normal, green olives, with the stones still  in ploise).

Method

  1. Heat a small frying pan over medium heat. Add a generous lick of olive oil and cook onion and garlic until onion if soft and fragrant. Please. Do. Not. Burn. It . Once it’s done, transfer it into the slow cooker pot.
  2. Trim and slice steak into 5-7cm cubes. Cook in the same frying pan, on high heat, long enough to sear the outsides but not necessarily cook through. You just want to give the meat a bit of colour.
  3. Transfer the steak to the slow cooker pot.
  4. Add dried oregano, passata, wine and capers to the slow cooker pot and stir-well, then cover and cook on ‘Auto’. The auto setting usually cooks the food on high for the first 1-2 hours, then automatically reduces it to low. This is supposed to be the better in terms of food safety, especially if there is meat involved. But I will leave that up to you. If you plan to be away the whole day, switch it to low.
  5. Add the olives about 10 minutes before serving and allow to cook in the sauce for a little while.
  6. Serve up with some crusty, toasted Ciabatta bread and a side salad. Oh and be prepared for your house to smell A-MAZING!
 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in Delish Dinners

 

One response to “Slow Cooked Steak Pizzaiola

  1. Johne152

    July 30, 2014 at 8:50 pm

    Usually I do not read writeup on blogs, nevertheless I wish to say that this writeup extremely forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, really wonderful post. fkdddafccaec

     

Do you have something to say?

 
