RSS

Potato, Caramelised Onion & Feta Tart

29 Mar

I really suck at anything to do with pastry.

I hate the mess of making pastry from scratch. All the flour and kneading and icky hands.

I hate the paranoia of staring at it in the oven, hoping it doesn’t shrink or crumble up.

And I really hate blind-baking.  I can’t ever get it right.

So I’m a ready-rolled, frozen pastry kinda girl and not ashamed of it. I don’t have the time, energy or inclination to make dough with my bare hands. Maybe if I had a talent for it, I would feel differently….

This tart is really simple, quick and a perfect light dinner or leftover work lunch. For dinner, you could serve it with a fresh tomato salad or some simply dressed rocket leaves.

I sneaked some eggplant slices into mine only because that’s the only way I can get my husband to eat eggplant, but of course, you don’t have to.

Now my photos aren’t as good as I would have liked (I’m blaming it on the lighting) and let’s just say it’s all looking a bit ‘rustic’, but holy moly, oh so good.

Ingredients

3tbsp olive oil

2 onions, sliced

2 tsp sugar

1/4 cup water

4 slices of eggplant, thinly sliced

5 medium sized waxy potatoes, sliced thinly

2 sheets ready-rolled frozen shortcrust pastry

rosemary sprigs (I used dried rosemary as that was all I had on hand)

rosemary salt

crumbled Danish feta cheese

salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C. Grease a shallow fluted tart pan with removable base
  2. Heat olive oil in pan, add onions and cook, stirring regularly until soft and fragrant.
  3. Add sugar and cook for a further few minutes, allowing the sugar to dissolve and the onions to pick up a lovely caramel colour.
  4. Soak eggplant and sliced potato in salted water while working to avoid discolouration.
  5. Add water to the pan and cook until it reduces down and forms a thick onion ‘jam’ consistency. Set aside to cool.
  6. Line the tart pan with two sheets of pastry to ensure there is sufficient pastry and it reaches up the sides evenly. Trim any excess with a knife.
  7. Line the tart base with baking paper and fill with rice or pastry weights and bake for 10 minutes. Remove weights and  reduce oven to about 160°C and bake for a further 10 minutes until golden and crisp.
  8. Meanwhile, cook eggplant for a few minutes with a lick of olive oil, then set aside.
  9. Cook the potato slices in a hot pan with a touch of olive oil. Add rosemary and a sprinkle of rosemary salt (this isn’t essential, but adds a nice touch- you can even make your own). Cook until the potatoes have picked up some nice colour, then set aside to cool.
  10. Once the tart shell is ready, smear your caramelised onions over the base, ensuring you spread evenly.
  11. Add eggplant (if you’re using it) and then layer the potato slices on top.
  12. Sprinkle with crumbled feta and bake in the oven for a further 15 minutes until potatoes are cooked through perfectly, and the feta has gone all yummy.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2010 in Delish Dinners, Luscious Lunches

 

2 responses to “Potato, Caramelised Onion & Feta Tart

  1. Chanel

    March 30, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    here here sister – pastry sucks – that’s why I love pre-made pastry, easy and allows you to focus on the yummy filling 🙂

     
  2. delishdinners

    March 30, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    So very true! I am totally envious of anyone who has mastered the art of pastry…but for the everyday cook, it’s just another drama on the To-Do list!
    And in the end, with this particular tart, I ended up picking the potatoes off and eating them alone anyway, they were so evil and tasty. MMM!

     

Do you have something to say?

 
