RSS

Teriyaki Beef

03 Apr

My husband thinks he is Asian.

If I was willing to cook it, he would eat rice, stir-fries, noodles and Asian broths every day. He uses chopsticks when eating Asian food, even though he clearly isn’t very good at it. When I ask him what he wants for dinner, before he even opens his mouth to breathe the words, I already know it’s something Asian. It’s infuriating. Infuriating because I like to try a variety of different foods. He doesn’t.

I don’t have a problem with Asian food in particular. I’m just not very experienced with it and only really am familiar with the Westernised version of Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Indonesian food and I think I’m more comfortable keeping it that way. I’m finding it hard to be interested in the concept of chicken feet, eel and other ‘delicacies’ enjoyed by our Asian neighbours. So please forgive me for my very basic Teriyaki Beef (yes….the sauce is out of a bottle) and please forgive me for handing him a pair of chopsticks and letting him think he’s Asian.

I adapted this recipe to throw in some vegies for a bit of colour and to make it a slightly more balanced meal.

Recipe Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup store bought teriyaki marinade
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 400g beef stir-fry strips (or 400g rump steak, trimmed and cut into strips)
  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice (I used jasmine rice, because hell would freeze over before I could get my husband to eat brown rice)
  • 1 carrot, cut into matchsticks
  • 1 zucchini, cut into matchsticks
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 teaspoon cornflour
  • 1/3 cup (80ml) water
  • 2 green onions, cut into 3cm lengths
Method
  1. Place teriyaki sauce, ginger and sesame oil in a non-metallic bowl. Add the beef and toss to combine. Cover and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the rice until tender. Drain, fold through the sesame seeds, cover and keep warm.
  3. Heat a little sesame oil in a wok or large non-stick frying pan over high heat. Drain the meat and reserve the marinade. Cook the meat in batches for 3 minutes or until browned. Transfer to a bowl, re-oiling the pan between batches.
  4. Place cornflour and water in a small bowl and whisk until well combined.
  5. Return the cooked meat to the pan along with any pan juices. Add the green onions. Add the cornflour mixture and cook for another 2-3 minutes or until the pan juices thicken slightly. Serve the teriyaki beef with cooked brown rice and steamed Asian greens, such as bok choy.

Recipe Source

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2010 in Delish Dinners

 

Do you have something to say?

 
