RSS

Lazy Sunday Lunch: Haloumi, Chickpea & Crispy Prosciutto Salad

09 May

Sorry for the lack of recent updates. Life has been busier than usual. We recently introduced a new 3 month old puppy into the family, a Maltese Shih-Tzu. She is a sister to our older Maltese Pomeranian cross and there has been a pretty intense adjustment period for all four of us.

I took for granted how easy life was with our 12 year old fur-daughter. She is placid, quiet, happy to laze about all day. When we brought the new little firecracker home, everything was turned upside down, literally. And don’t get me started on the poop, which I kindly won’t because we’re here to talk about food….but OMG, how something so little and fluffy poops so furiously and with such rank odour beats me….

So anyway, my point was, since the new puppy came along, cooking has taken a back seat unfortunately. Having a screaming, howling, shitting pup will do that to anyone. Eating salads and pasta or soup for dinner became the norm over the last month and crawling into bed was a blessed escape from cleaning up poop, refereeing the bitch fights and sneezing. Yes, I am allergic to her.

So today, I finally emerged from my puppy-induced coma and hit the kitchen to make a yummy Sunday lunch. I wasn’t trying to be overly ambitious, after all, she was still there, attempting to hump my leg and playing tunnel between my feet. The result was one of our favourite salads- my husband and I have enjoyed this simple salad on many lazy Sundays.

Obviously, the ingredients are open to change to suit your own taste, but provided you keep the main three components I’m sure you will find it tasty, filling and quick and easy to make. I love the saltiness of the haloumi and prosciutto (I’m a fan of salty flavours, just in case you hadn’t noticed), the meatiness of the chickpeas, crisp crunch of the grilled prosciutto and buttery lettuce. YUM!

Just on a side note, I actually put some mixed olives into mine at my husband’s request (this, from the same guy who thought tomato sauce on grilled fish was a great idea)….Don’t. They didn’t sit well with the flavour combinations.

Ingredients

1 block of haloumi cheese, sliced into thick-ish slices

6 pieces of prosciutto or pancetta

1/2 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

2 cups mixed lettuce leaves

1/2 cucumber, sliced

1 vine-ripened tomato, cut into wedges

1 Spanish onion, sliced finely

2 tbsp olive oil

3 tbsp red balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp wholegrain mustard

2 tbsp honey, warmed in the microwave

Method

Lay prosciutto on a tray and grill in the oven until dark and crispy, set aside.

Cook prosciutto in a lightly oiled pan or grill until golden.

Assemble salad, spoon over the chickpeas, top with haloumi and crispy prosciutto.

To make the dressing, combine olive oil, balsamic vinegar, mustard and honey, whisk to combine and drizzle over the salad.

Told ya it was easy. ๐Ÿ˜›

 

One response to “Lazy Sunday Lunch: Haloumi, Chickpea & Crispy Prosciutto Salad

  1. Chanel

    May 9, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    I’ll trust you on the olives – and goodluck with your newest family member ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Do you have something to say?

 
