RSS

Crunchy Roasted Chickpeas

14 May

I am a big snacker.

I know that’s not a real word, because my spell check had a shit fit when I typed it in, but I did what I do best and clicked ‘Ignore’ and moved on.

When I say I’m a snacker….I’m not talking about Mars Bars, cookies and potato chips. Yes, I do on rare occasions go down that road, usually when I’m hormonal and my husband is hiding for cover.

My idea of snacks are yummy handfuls of goodness, little morsels and bites that aren’t there to just fill the belly or purely for the purposes of fueling my body, but little moments of yummy glee between the main meals of the day.  For so long, my snacks have been store-bought because I work gazillion hours a week, but today was a pleasantly gloomy, misty day and I unleashed my fury on the kitchen, producing an amazing Ginger and Treacle Pear Cake which I had been lusting over after seeing it on one of my fave blogs (I creamed my pants instantly when I saw it), a delish French toast brekkie and these crunchy roasted chickpeas to graze on while I contemplated dinner.

I grew up eating roasted chickpeas (calia) and roasted broadbeans thanks to my Nonna, so once again, these flavours remind of my childhood.

Chickpeas are an ideal snack, low in saturated fat, cholesterol and sodium. They’re also a great source of folate and protein, so a great addition to the diet for those of us who are looking at procreating sometime soon (you will know how important folate is!) or are vegetarians and need to find your protein intake through legumes instead of meat. Now that the little nutrition lesson is over, and I’ve suitably convinced myself that these aren’t such a sinful snack, let’s begin. It’s really rather easy, if you mess up this recipe, there really is something ‘special’ about you.

Ingredients

2 cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper

sea salt, to taste

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200C
  2. Rinse chickpeas thoroughly, then pat dry with kitchen paper. Lay flat on a tray and blast in the oven to dry them out for about 5 minutes.
  3. Remove from oven, toss them with olive oil, spices and salt and lay flat on a tray. Reduce oven to 180C and bake for a further 40 minutes until crunchy and golden.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in General, Sinful snacks

 

4 responses to “Crunchy Roasted Chickpeas

  1. Chanel

    May 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I tend to be a nut snacker – mostly almonds, walnuts and brazil nuts, and whilst healthy, in excess they aren’t so good for me. As a veggo I am constantly looking for ways to beef up my iron and protein levels (I could also use the extra folate, hopefully), and chickpeas do the trick – will have to try this one out.

    I’m glad you liked that cake too, I still dream about that cake-baby…

     
  2. delishdinners

    May 14, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    OOh I absolutely adore almonds and brazil nuts too. Once in a while my mum gives me a tub of fresh almonds from her tree. I soak them in water overnight and then peel the skins off and eat them while watching TV, lol.
    Broadbeans are actually quite good roasted too, maybe I will make a roasted legume medley one day….
    Chickpeas are great, they are so versatile.

    And that cake, whoah! Mine was nowhere as pretty and delicate as yours, so I didn’t bother uploading any shots, so I can appreciate your pics even more now. But wowee, loved, loved, loved it.

     
  3. Low Fat Protein Bars

    May 17, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    wow, I never tried or heard of ‘crunchy’ chickpeas.

     
    • delishdinners

      May 17, 2010 at 8:21 pm

      Provided you dry them out properly prior to roasting them, they will develop a nice crunch 🙂 very yummy and very moreish.

       

Do you have something to say?

 
