RSS

Mini Chocolate & Cherry Ricotta Cheesecakes

29 May

I know that when you first look at this photo, your first thought is WTF (and no, I don’t mean ‘why the face?).

I’m not one of those people who make pretty desserts. Don’t get me wrong, as much as I would love to, I lack the finesse and technique to make a dessert look truly special. I’ve always been a fan of the KISS (keep it simple, stupid) style of doing things and I’ve learned to convince myself that it’s about the taste rather than how it looks….

These little chocolate and cherry ricotta cheesecakes were pretty yum and it was the only reason I bothered attempting a photo, otherwise I would have happily spared myself the shame.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have a strong sweet tooth, unlike my garbage-guts husband who would gobble the sugar straight from the pack, but recently I’ve been craving the tartness of sour cherries and short of eating Morello cherries straight from the jar, I decided to make use of the tub of ricotta in my fridge and make something small and cheeky to enjoy during the Lost finale.

I only made about 6 small individual cheesecakes in a silicone muffin mould, so the measurements are approximate.

Ingredients

250g smooth ricotta

1/2 pack of Chocolate Ripple biscuits

3 tbsp melted butter

1 egg, lightly beaten

4 tbsp morello cherries

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla essence

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C
  2. Line muffin tray with squares of baking paper (for the super paranoid). If you’re not as paranoid as I, simply greasing them should be suitable.
  3. Process the chocolate biscuits to a fine crumb, combine with melted butter and press into the bottom of each muffin mould. Smooth with the back of your spoon, ensuring the crumbs are nice and compact. Set aside.
  4. In a bowl, mix ricotta, egg, sugar and essence and whisk until smooth. Fold in cherries. Pour mixture into muffin trays.
  5. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until filling is just set and golden on top.
  6. Refrigerate for 2 hours or until nice and cold.
  7. Serve with whipped creams and drizzle with some morello cherry syrup. YUMMO!
 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 29, 2010 in Devilish Desserts

 

One response to “Mini Chocolate & Cherry Ricotta Cheesecakes

  1. Chanel

    May 29, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    why the face – gold!

    And if something is yummy, it’s better to share the recipe with us even if the pic is a night-time flash shot – I should do mini portions they are so much cuter!

     

Do you have something to say?

 
