RSS

Vietnamese Beef, Mushroom & Noodle Salad

05 Jun

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not very experienced with Asian food, so I am still in my experimentation phase, just  dabbling with recipes, new ingredients and condiments, to find the flavours that I like. I had a leftover piece of porterhouse steak and it was either hunt online for a recipe where 1 piece of steak was going to be sufficient, or treat the dogs to a nice dinner (they shared some of it with me in the end).

I’ve copied the recipe as I found it on the website but made a few minor adjustments along the way.

On a side note, I’m a bit weird with the concept of steak as a salad ingredient. Chicken, yes, tuna, yes, prawns, yes maybe…but steak, hmmm I’m not sure I’m convinced. My steak came out cooked to perfection, it was tender and well done, just the way I like it and the salad was tasty, but I don’t think I will be rushing out to add steak to any of my other salads anytime soon…

Ingredients

1/2lb sirloin steak (*I used porterhouse)

3.5oz bean thread noodles (*I used rice vermicelli)

1/2 cup of fresh mushrooms, thinly sliced

1 small handful of mint leaves

1 small handful of basil leaves

1 small handful of coriander leaves

2 Kaffir lime leaves, finely sliced (*I didn’t use these)

1 red chilli, finely sliced

1/2 red onion, finely sliced

1/2 cucumber,  sliced or cut into strips

1 tablespoon of chopped roasted peanuts

1 tablespoon of fried shallots (finely slice shallots, deep fry in oil until golden, drain on paper towel)- *couldn’t be bothered.

BEEF MARINADE:

1 clove of garlic, crushed

1 tablespoon of soy sauce

1 tablespoon fish sauce

2 teaspoons of sugar

1 teaspoon sesame oil

SALAD DRESSING

1/6th cup sugar

1/4 cup lime juice

2 tablespoons of fish sauce

2 tablespoons of soy sauce

1 clove of garlic

1 tablespoon of sliced lemongrass (white section only)

1 small handful of cilantro leaves

2 tablespoons olive oil

Method

  1. To marinate the beef, mix all the marinade ingredients together in a bowl, add the steak, and coat well. Refrigerate for a couple of hours, if this isn’t possible, at least do it for ten minutes while you prep your vegies.
  2. Soak the noodles in hot water, according to package directions. Run under cold water to cool. Dry with a paper towel. Cut the noodles into short lengths.
  3. Whisk all salad dressing ingredients together in a bowl.
  4. Heat a cast iron grill or heavy-based frying pan over a high heat until it is very hot. Pour in a little oil. When it is really smoking, add the steak.
  5. Sear the steak for a couple of minutes on each side, then turn down the heat, and cook a little longer – until it is cooked to your liking. (*Once seared on the outside, I like to take my cast iron grill pan and pop it straight into a preheated oven at about 180C and cook for a further 8 minutes or so, until well done).
  6. When cooked to your liking, take the beef out of the pan and let it rest for a couple of minutes. In that same pan quickly cook the sliced mushrooms.
  7. Cut the meat across the grain into thin slices.
  8. Combine the beef with all the other ingredients, apart from the toasted peanuts and fried shallots. Toss to combine. Add the dressing slowly, until everything is just coated. Put onto plates, and top with the fried shallots and roased peanuts.

Recipe Source

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 5, 2010 in Luscious Lunches

 

One response to “Vietnamese Beef, Mushroom & Noodle Salad

Do you have something to say?

 
