RSS

Raspberry & Honey Porridge

13 Jun

What is that gruel, I hear you say?

Well it just so happens to be the ugliest looking, but yummiest brekkie I’ve had in a while my dear.

With winter well and truly here, getting out of bed and facing the day had become a challenge in itself. Motivating myself to eat breakfast was like trying to entice a convict to the electric chair.

I stared at the pantry in my zombified state and finally decided to go all country healthy and have some porridge for breakfast, something I hadn’t done in a long time. I added some fresh raspberries to mine with a drizzle of honey and I found myself thinking up excuses to have porridge again for dinner…

Just on a side note, I prefer my porridge even more ‘sloppy’ (insert crude jokes here), but for the purposes of not completely disgusting anyone who looked at the slop in the photo, I added the rest of my milk after the shot.

This

Ingredients

1 part rolled oats

2 parts milk

1 tsp honey

1/2 tsp sugar

3 tbsp fresh raspberries

Method

  1. Place oats, milk and sugar into a saucepan and cook on med heat.
  2. Cook for approx 5 minutes until oats are soft and most of the liquid has been absorbed.
  3. Turn the heat off, add a further dash of milk and stir through the porridge.
  4. Stir the raspberries through and drizzle with honey before serving.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 13, 2010 in Beautiful Brekkies

 

One response to “Raspberry & Honey Porridge

  1. Chanel

    June 13, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    That’s it – I am making myself some porridge with raspberries RIGHT NOW!

     

Do you have something to say?

 
