RSS

Classic Caesar Salad

26 Jun

I am a Caesar Salad Whore (CSW).

Watching Masterchef last night and Donna Hay’s spin on the classic Caesar Salad stirred the Caesar harlot in me and I spent the rest of the night thinking about the crunch and creaminess of a yummy Caesar Salad.

I have to order Caesar Salad everywhere it appears on the menu. In fact, I’ve had Caesar Salads from all over this fine land and beyond and would be happy reviewing and blogging about Caesar Salads alone.

I’ve had some pretty icky salads and some that are just so deliciously moreish and of all the places I’ve devoured Caesars, I think my local pub has got it pretty down pat.

Now, in my desperate need to have this salad after watching Masterchef, I had to use iceberg lettuce (I know, string me up and stone me right now) because my ‘quaint’ little local supermarket was closed and I wasn’t able to pick up some cos lettuce. So let’s just pretend that in my photos, I’ve used deep green, crispy cos leaves as opposed to the blasphemy that is iceberg lettuce. The salad still had the right jist of flavours and the CSW in me was blissfully satisfied in the post-Caesar glow.

This recipe serves 4.

Ingredients

For the salad

2 small heads cos (romaine) lettuce

2 eggs

3 rashers rindless bacon, sliced into strips

1/2 Ciabatta roll, sliced thinly

2 tablespoons olive oil

For the dressing

4 anchovy fillets
1 clove garlic, roughly chopped
5 tablespoons olive oil
1  large egg yolk
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Lay bacon slices on tray and put them in the oven to cook for about 8-10 minutes until deliciously crispy.
  2. Lay the thin slices of Ciabatta bread on a tray lined with baking paper, brush with olive oil and sprinkle a little salt and cook in the oven, until golden and crunchy.
  3. Drain bacon on paper towel and set croutons aside.
  4. Meanwhile, soft boil 2 eggs and set aside to cool once they’re done.
  5. To make the dressing: Whir the anchovy fillets and garlic in a food processor (I used my Magic Bullet). Add the olive oil, egg yolk, lemon juice, mustard, Worcestershire sauce and then season to taste with salt and freshly ground pepper. Your dressing should have a lovely runny consistency, so if it’s too thick, just whisk in a bit of water.
  6. Arrange cos leaves on a plate. Top with crunchy bacon pieces, shaved parmesan and croutons.
  7. Peel soft-boiled eggs, split in half and arrange atop the salad.
  8. Drizzle with Caesar dressing and serve immediately.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2010 in Luscious Lunches

 

Do you have something to say?

 
