RSS

Portuguese Custard Tarts

13 Jul

There is something special about Portuguese Custard Tarts.

They’re not the prettiest, or most sophisticated dessert to look at. In fact, they’re quite rustic and plain, but they more than make up for it in taste. Forget American Pie, they should have made a movie franchise called Portuguese Custard Tart. I would have been there in a heartbeat.

I’ve scoured the net for a good recipe and truth be told, they’re all very similar with minor exceptions here and there, but the one I settled on was from a Bill Granger recipe, posted on Not Quite Nigella.

This recipe serves 12 apparently….or just me, with that glint in my eye and a lick of the lips.

Ingredients

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 115g caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp cornflour
  • 230ml Cream
  • 170ml Milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 300g rolled puff pastry

Method

  1. Lightly grease a 12-hole 80ml muffin tray.
  2. Put the egg yolks, sugar and cornflour in a pan and whisk together. Gradually whisk in the cream and milk until smooth.
  3. Place the pan over a medium heat and cook, stirring, until the mixture thickens and comes to the boil. Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla extract. Transfer the custard to a bowl, cover the surface with cling film to prevent a skin forming and leave to cool.
  4. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  5. Cut the pastry dough sheet in half, put one half on top of the other and set aside for 5 minutes. Roll up the pastry tightly from the short end and cut the pastry log into 12 x 1cm rounds. Lay each pastry round on a lightly floured surface and use a rolling pin to roll out until each is 10cm in diameter. (*I’m not sure why we do this, but I noticed a lot of recipes had this same step, so I’ll roll with it, so to speak)
  6. Press the pastry rounds into the muffin tin. Spoon the cooled custard into the pastry cases and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the pastry and custard are golden. Leave the tarts in the tin for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe Source

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 13, 2010 in Devilish Desserts, Sinful snacks

 

One response to “Portuguese Custard Tarts

  1. hosting help desk

    March 5, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    Greetingys from Florida! I’m bored too death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.

    I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take
    a lok when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!

     

Do you have something to say?

 
