RSS

Banana & Honey Yoghurt Bread

01 Aug

Sorry for the lack of recent updates (I’m hoping somebody missed me…or I’m delusional, whatevs!)

I’ve been back at work after a month off and have been totally knocked off my feet with the whole thing, leaving me a drained, cranky mess at the end of the day. That, and I have been flitting around like the social butterfly I am, catching up with friends for incontinence-inducing laughter and well needed cocktails.

This week, I kid you not, my husband and I ate hoi-sin vegetable and udon noodle stirfry for dinner every single night of the week, purely because I was so tired, brain-dead and uninspired to do anything else.

That is my confession, but luckily I am anonymous in the big wonderful world of the internet and can admit these shameless things without being stoned to death.

Today, I had to use some extra bananas that were about 2 days off growing their own legs and running away. Okay, perhaps they weren’t that bad….but they were brown and mushy and not something I’d wanna be eating. As always, what do you do when you have extra bananas to use up? Banana bread of course!

Banana bread is one of my understated favourites. It never gets enough recognition or appreciation for being a delicious and filling snack or lovely breakfast. I’ve experimented with a lot of different recipes, but this one is my favourite and I’m sticking with it. I’ve posted the recipe purely so I can refer back to it next time I’ve got bananas that need using up.

The addition of youghurt to this recipe keeps the bread lovely and moist and also adds another depth of flavour. I’ve used different flavours in the past but have to say the mixed berry flavoured yoghurts are probably the tastiest.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup self-raising flour
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 125g butter
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3 tbsp flavoured yoghurt (I used honey-flavoured youghurt)
  • 50g brazil nuts
  • 1 tbsp honey


Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a loaf pan (I used a silicon loaf pan because it’s easier to turn the bread out without it ending in tears).
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together until well combined and light and fluffy. Add the whisked eggs and mix well.
  3. Combine flours, cinnamon, mashed bananas and yoghurt in a separate bowl and mix well. Add the creamed butter and sugar mixture as well as the brazil nuts and honey. Stir well to combine.
  4. Scoop the mix into the loaf pan, sprinkle lightly with brown sugar  and bake for approximately 45-50 minutes, until golden brown
 

2 responses to “Banana & Honey Yoghurt Bread

  1. Chanel

    August 1, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    You timed your absence perfectly for me as I just got back yesterday and am now catching up on blogs 🙂

    And at least you still cooked, that deserves applause! My hubby and I once had pizza three nights in a row because I couldn’t be bothered cooking – we didn’t feel very well afterwards.

    And it’s true, banana bread is not given the credit it deserves – it saves bananas and turns into something you can eat time of the day with sweet spreads or even cream cheese. Once you make it you just keep going back for more. I like the addition of brazil nuts (an underrated nut), not the standard choice

     
  2. delishdinners

    August 1, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Welcome back! I was just about to head over to your blog and do some catching up myself!
    I trust you had an amazing time and will indulge us with some of the treats you sampled while away? I’m surprised you came back at all, I would have “mysteriously” lost my return tickets…and emptied all the credit card accounts so we would be stranded…can you tell I’ve contemplated this just a tad too long? LOL

     

Do you have something to say?

 
