RSS

Almond Biscotti

24 Aug

I must apologise for my recent lack of updates.

No, I did not drown in a sea of laundry (hubby gave me CPR and brought me back from the brink just as my life started flashing before my eyes), nor did I run away with the circus (although, sometimes I was surrounded by a few too many clowns).

I will tell you where I’ve been if you promise not to judge me too harshly.

A month ago, I had cable TV installed. I’ve been glued to the Food Network ever since.

I am a bad blogger. Bend me over and spank me.

To paint you a picture, here’s what my days have been like over the last few weeks.

9:00AM– Get up, turn on TV in bedroom, watch Food Network while getting dressed, doing hair and putting on face.

10:00AM– Put on heels, spritz with perfume while mesmerised by the Food Network. Repeat for the remainder of the day.

6:30PM– Get home, take off heels and bra. Turn on Food Network. Drool.

7:30PM– Catch up on all recorded cooking shows I missed during business hours. Eat peanut butter toast.

9:00PM– Throw the remote at husband for interrupting 5 Ingredient Fix or Ace of Cakes. Laugh at Chef Duff’s laugh and Anne Burrell’s grunts.

11:55PM– Realise I haven’t cooked dinner. Shrug. Head to bed and watch Food Network in the bedroom until I fall asleep.

I know I will eventually snap out of it. But for the moment, let me enjoy my Food Network glow. The wonders of cable television, how could I have been so resistant for soooo long?

So to apologise for me ditching the blog, I made you this peace offering. Almond biscotti, my all time favourites.

I have also made chocolate-orange biscotti, substituting the almonds for chocolate chips and adding orange rind and Cointreau. I have also made hazelnut and chocolate biscotti, substituting the almonds for hazelnuts and adding choc chips.

Recipe

  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • Finely grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 2 cups plain flour, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 150g whole almonds (skin on)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170C and line a large baking sheet with baking paper.
  2. Beat sugar, eggs and lemon rind in a bowl and mix until pale and thick.
  3. Fold in sifted flour, baking powder and almonds and knead the dough until it’s well combined, smooth and elastic. You will wonder if I’ve been smoking crack when you start this process because it doesn’t look like it will possibly come together, but work at it and I guarantee it will.
  4. Divide mixture in half and form 2 logs. Place on baking sheet, ensure there is adequate space between the logs. Bake for 20-25 minutes until dough is firm and slightly golden.
  5. Remove from oven, set aside to cool.
  6. Reduce oven to about 140C.
  7. Once dough has cooled, use a serrated knife or even better, an electric knife to cut the biscuits out of the log.
  8. Lay the slices flat on the baking tray and bake for 15-20 minutes, turning once, until golden and dried out.
  9. Remove from oven, allow to cool. Store in airtight container for 3 weeks.
 
 

Do you have something to say?

 
