RSS

Coq au Vin

24 Aug

Gee, I’m on a roll with these late night, unappealing photos aren’t I?

I’m hoping you’ll forgive me but I was just so proud that I had made my very first Coq au Vin without the assistance of a packet ‘flavour base” that I had to share.

So it might look unappealing and let’s not go there comparing it to other things it may resemble, just trust me when I say it was scrumptious and I will definitely be making it again.

We had this with olive oil mash and crunchy steamed green beans.

I made a few of my adaptations to this recipe.

  • I used brown onions instead of pickling onions.
  • I used chicken breast fillets because that was what I had.
  • I used pancetta instead of bacon.
  • I skipped on the cognac.

Ingredients

  • 20 small onions (pickling onions)
  • A few sprigs of parsley
  • A sprig of thyme
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 50 g butter
  • About 100 g bacon, cut into small strips
  • About 250 g mushrooms
  • 8 chicken pieces on the bone, e.g. 4 drumsticks and 4 thighs
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • About 30 ml cognac
  • 1 large tbsp plain flour
  • About 400 ml red wine
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp chopped parsley

Method

  1. Place peeled onions in a saucepan with cold water. Bring to the boil and boil for 2 minutes, then drain.
  2. Tie the parsley, thyme and bay leaf together using kitchen string.
  3. Heat half the butter in a wide saucepan on medium heat and brown onions for a few minutes. Add bacon and stir well for 2 minutes. Add mushrooms and cook for 4-5 minutes until mushrooms are soft. Transfer onions, bacon and mushrooms to a dish.
  4. Heat remaining butter in the same pan and brown chicken pieces on high heat for a few minutes. Season with salt and pepper and stir well.
  5. Drain excess fat into a bowl and discard.
  6. Add cognac to pan and flame the chicken by either lighting a match or by tilting the pan towards the gas flame. Stir well, then sprinkle flour over the chicken.
  7. Add wine and shake the pan. Add herbs, garlic and tomato paste and stir well. Bring to a slow simmer, cover with a lid and cook for about 20 minutes.
  8. Turn chicken pieces over. Add mushrooms, bacon and onions, cover with a lid and simmer for a further 10 minutes.
  9. Check the seasoning, sprinkle with chopped parsley and serve.

Recipe adapted from here

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2010 in Delish Dinners

 

Do you have something to say?

 
