RSS

Fluffy Pancakes with Walnuts & Maple Syrup

13 Sep

So, a certain someone celebrated their fourth wedding anniversary on Sunday.

Fourth. As in, four whole years.

I can’t help but feel like I have accomplished something great, in this day and age of quickie marriages and even quicker divorces. My husband and I have been together for almost 8 years and married for four of those and even though there have been times where I’ve contemplated where I would bury him and what I would spend his life insurance on (JOKING!), we really have weathered a lot of change, disasters, moments of happiness and have taken many of those momentous leaps into adulthood together.

Luckily for him, he also shares my appreciation for food, although generally he prefers his doused in a little more sugar than myself.  He loves sugar so much, that he has coined my nickname from his great love. Yes, he calls me Sugar. Let’s all go aww as well as pity him for being so creepy and lame.

So for our 4th anniversary, I had to make his absolute favourite brekkie to start the day- pancakes. You can’t go wrong with a good pancake stack, it was the least I could give him considering he bought me a Chanel handbag. LOL.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 25g butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted
  • maple syrup, to serve
  • vanilla ice-cream, to serve

Method

  1. Whisk milk, egg and vanilla together in a jug. Sift flour and bicarbonate of soda into a bowl. Stir in sugar. Make a well in centre. Add milk mixture. Whisk until just combined.
  2. Heat a large non-stick frying pan over medium heat. Brush pan with butter. Using 1/4 cup mixture per pancake, cook 2 pancakes for 3 to 4 minutes or until bubbles appear on surface. Turn and cook for 3 minutes or until cooked through. Transfer to a plate. Cover loosely with foil to keep warm. Repeat with remaining mixture, brushing pan with butter between batches.
  3. Serve stacked with a bit of butter (if that’s your thang), top with toasted walnuts, maple syrup and vanilla ice cream.
 

One response to “Fluffy Pancakes with Walnuts & Maple Syrup

  1. Chanel

    September 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Congratulations!!!

    And lucky girl, I was hoping my hubby would get me Chanel bag for our 6year that just passed but he shot that down pretty quick…maybe 8 will be my lucky number too 🙂

     

Do you have something to say?

 
