RSS

Fruit Salad with Passionfruit & Lime Syrup

16 Jun

It may be winter, so you may be WTFing my dish of choice today. I know it hardly seems like the kind of warming, hearty, lava-ish kinda recipe you might be craving during the winter months, but as much as I love winter, I was feeling a tad nostalgic about all the fresh fruit I used to eat in summer time and I realised how the main source of my fruit intake in winter was baked, crumbled, poached or caramelised. I simply wanted fruit, in it’s natural form, untouched and uncomplicated.

This may have also had something to do with my recent visit to the farmer’s market nearby where I came home with lots of locally grown fresh berries and other produce and couldn’t wait to use them….

Ingredients

  • 1 punnet strawberries, sliced
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 3/4 canteloupe, chopped into bite-size pieces
  • 1 cup fresh pineapple (if available, if not, use canned pineapple pieces and drain them well)
  • 1 apple, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 4 passionfruits, halved, pulp scooped out
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 lime, zest and juice
  • Toasted pecans (optional, I had a craving for pecans so that’s why I included it).

Method

  1. Assemble the chopped fruit into individual serving dishes or into one large serving bowl and set aside.
  2. In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine water, sugar, lime zest and juice and passionfruit pulp.
  3. Allow to cook for approximately 10 minutes or until the syrup has reduced by half and thickened significantly. Stir from time to time and when the syrup starts to coat the back of the spoon, it’s ready.
  4. Allow the syrup to cool, then pour over fruit salad.
  5. Top with toasted pecans.
 

One response to “Fruit Salad with Passionfruit & Lime Syrup

  1. chanel11

    June 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I say, if you can get it at the farmer’s market then use it, organic pineapple might not be very wintry but it’s available so I say ‘eat an be merry’. That is possibly one of the sexiest fruit salad’s I have seen.

     

Do you have something to say?

 
