RSS

Brandy Snaps with Orange & Ricotta Cream

11 Jan

I’ve always wanted to make brandy snaps. For years, they’ve been a Christmastime treat, but they always struck me as too difficult, too fiddly, too poncy to make.

So this year I decided I am going to make them myself for next Christmas, but knowing me, I’d need a bit of practice because they just seemed too hard, so I propped myself on the couch and watched an hour of Youtube videos on how to shape them. That’s an hour of my life I’ll never get back, but it gave me some confidence to try it!

Mine are not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, some were deformed and I struggled a little with consistency, so next time I’ll try to perfect those things, but overall, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be! I recommend you giving it a try if you’ve been reluctant like I was. It totally opened up a new door to me once I did it and I got excited thinking about all the possible future recipes I could create after learning such a simple technique.

For a spin on the traditional whipped cream filling, I chose an orange and ricotta cream- orange and brandy seem to go well together and I chose to halve the whipped cream intake by adding ricotta… I’m not sure if a dietician would approve, but it sounded good in my head. And tasted even better on my lips! MM MMM!

 

INGREDIENTS

For the brandy snaps:

  • 1 stick of salted butter (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup golden syrup (or molasses)
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1 tbsp brandy or cognac

For the filling:

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tbsp orange juice or Cointreau

METHOD

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C.
  2. To start on the brandy snaps, place butter, sugar, syrup and brandy in a medium saucepan over low heat; cook and stir until butter is melted. Stir in flour slowly and mix until it’s smooth.
  3. To ensure consistency, use a measuring spoon for 1 tbsp of batter. Drop the batter about 3-4 inches apart on a lined tray. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.Keep an eye on the oven because everyone’s oven is different and these can go wrong so fast…I should know!
  4. Remove from the oven and allow to cool enough to touch- about a minute or so. Gently peel the ‘biscuit’ from the tray and quickly wrap it around something with a tubular shape- a fat wooden spoon or cooking utensil, etc. If they get hard and uncooperative, pop them back in the oven for about 10 seconds and they’ll be pliable again.
  5. Allow the biscuit to cool around the mould and then gently remove and set aside.
  6. While the biscuits are cooling, start on the filling. Beat together butter, ricotta, cream, caster sugar, orange zest and orange juice/Cointreau until it’s smooth and glossy and beautiful. You want the cream to be light and fluffy.
  7. Get your piping bag ready! Pipe the filling into cooled brandy snaps just before you’re ready to serve them.
  8. Sit back and enjoy praise from husband while telling him how difficult they are to make and hinting you need a foot massage.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Devilish Desserts, Sinful snacks

 

One response to “Brandy Snaps with Orange & Ricotta Cream

  1. pozycjonowanie

    February 1, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is simply nice and I could assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

     

Do you have something to say?

 
