RSS

Roasted Garlic & Dijon Mustard Mashed Potatoes

11 Jan

I live near potato farms which is just cruel considering I’m supposed to be low-carbing and avoiding the only things that make my life worthwhile- pasta, bread and….. potatoes.

I’ve always said I could eat potatoes everyday, in every which way, I just love them so much. Roasted, baked, mashed, boiled, fried- it doesn’t matter, I’d gobble it down.

So recently, with the New Year excesses behind me, I had been a good girl but a recent drive past the potato farm had me weak at the knees. All those beautiful, fresh potatoes, straight from the farms, caked in soil and smelling of the earth, I HAD to have some.

I picked up a huge 10kg bag of spuds and managed to wrangle it to the car (my daily exercise) and started plotting all the delish ways I was going to eat these babies.

One of my favourite foods is mash. I’m not gonna lie. Some of my winter dinners have consisted solely of mashed spuds and some gravy poured over the top.

This recipe is for anyone who is open to trying something new with their mash. For me, I had a hankering for roasted garlic and potatoes so I combined the two together. It’s delish, decadent and smells ever so seductive.

The slower and more gently you roast the garlic, the sweeter it will be so if time is on your side, get it started earlier in the day or use it leftover from another roasting session.

Also, if you have a potato ricer, you’ll get a smoother, more creamy mash.

Don’t laugh, but I had the leftovers today spread across some bread. A mashed potato sandwich. Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this!

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 head of garlic, top sliced off
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 6-8 potatoes, washed, peeled and quartered
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

 

METHOD

  1. Preheat your oven to 160C.
  2. Place the head of garlic on a tray lined with baking paper, generously drizzle with olive oil. Roast in the oven for about 45 minutes-1 hour, until golden, soft and fragrant. Allow the garlic to cool for about 20 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, bring a saucepan of salted water to the boil and cook the potatoes for about 15-20 minutes. Do the ‘Prick Test’ (Don’t you wish you could do this with some men? lol) with a fork to ensure they’re cooked.
  4. Drain the potatoes and return back to the saucepan. Add the Dijon mustard, milk, butter and seasoning and mash over low heat until smooth.
  5. Once the garlic has cooled, peel off the outer skin and gently squeeze the gooey roasted garlic out of about 3-4 cloves. On a chopping board, smoosh it out with the back of a spoon until it becomes a smooth paste. Mix this in with the potatoes until well combined.

Use the leftover roasted garlic cloves to spread on toasted bruschetta or Ciabatta bread or even rub it onto some beef/steaks before cooking for your next dinner.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Delish Dinners, Luscious Lunches

 

Do you have something to say?

 
