RSS

Crunchy Chicken Noodle Salad

14 May

page

 

I love this salad and would eat it every day if I could. It’s fresh, it’s light but satisfying, it’s packed with flavour and best of all, it stores well so you can easily prep it the night before and take it to work the next day.

As always, I freestyle the recipe amounts, so I will give approximates…I’m sure you can figure it out for what suits you and your current situation. For myself, I always cook for myself and my husband and hope for leftovers the next day for our work lunches.

Now, if you’re lazy time-poor like me, you can just opt for a pre-sliced bag of coleslaw mix from the supermarket instead of chopping all of your cabbages and grating carrots and ruining your manicure. You just march yourself  into that refrigerated aisle and buy yourself a bag of coleslaw mix like it ain’t nobody else’s business and don’t feel bad about it. These small conveniences can save you heaps of time and effort in the kitchen and it’s not going to cause brain cancer, starve a third world country or kill of baby gorillas.

Ingredients

3 chicken breasts

1 bag Coleslaw mix

1/4 cup spring onions, sliced

1/3 cup toasted peanuts

1/2 cup Chang’s Fried Noodles

1/2 cup soy sauce

4 tbsp fish sauce

1 lime, juiced

Drizzle of sesame oil

1/4 cup rice wine vinegar

 

Method

  1. Marinate whole chicken breasts in 3/4 of the soy sauce, 2 tbsp of fish sauce, lime juice and a lick of sesame oil. Marinate for a least an hour, covered with cling film, however overnight is even better.
  2. Cook the chicken breasts on a cast iron grill or heavy based pan. A barbecue would be even better for that smoky charred flavour. Once the chicken is cooked through, set is aside to cool before slicing or shredding it.
  3. In a separate large bowl, empty out your coleslaw bag (if you’re making it from scratch, put your carrots, cabbage and spring onion in now). I can’t believe I just made opening a bag of coleslaw an actual step in this recipe.
  4. Make the dressing by combining the remaining soy sauce, 2 tbsp fish sauce, a little drizzle of sesame oil and rice wine vinegar. Taste as you and make any adjustments to suit your taste. Disclaimer: I am a salt fiend and really go ape with the soy – you may want to go easy to on the suggested amounts and taste as you go to suit your own palate.
  5. Toss the sliced/shredded chicken with the salad and pour the dressing over. If you eating or serving the salad later, stop here. Do not pass GO and do not collect $200. If you add the nuts and fried noodles now, they’ll take up that dressing and lose their crunch factor, so if you’re eating this later, simply store the salad in a sealed container or covered with cling film and add the nuts and noodles just before serving. If you’re taking this to work, just pack these items separately.
  6. Toast your peanuts in a dry hot pan with NO oil over a medium heat until thy’re  toasty and fragrant. Some slight char marks are ok, but if you walk away to go and watch Chelsea Lately and get lost in her horse-like features and un-witty banter, you may come back to some smoking black little nuts. I meant the peanuts, not the guests on her show, just so we are clear
  7. Last but not least, when it’s time to serve, toss the toasted peanuts through the salad, top with some crunchy noodles and garnish with some coriander (the herb of the devil, I hate it) or sliced chilli and spring onion.  .

FYI, I am sorry in advance for any formatting or spelling issues on this post. My little Malshi has insisted on laying on my lap between myself and laptop. Her paw keeps jerking as she dreams and is hitting random keys. I think I found most of the mistakes and corrected them, but any that slipped through are solely her fault. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it. Lucky she is cute.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 14, 2013 in Delish Dinners, Luscious Lunches

 

One response to “Crunchy Chicken Noodle Salad

  1. Tehachapi News

    May 15, 2013 at 3:21 am

    I wanted to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

     

Do you have something to say?

 
